The best apps for livestreaming videos of bacon

This weekend I did a side-by-side comparison of the live video apps Meerkat and Periscope by live streaming videos of bacon cooking and my cat and dog fighting.

periscope-iphone6-hero[1] Meerkat[1]

The first major difference I noticed is that Meerkat had a superior interface: I love Meerkats and I love the color yellow. Periscope’s icon is a weird red crescent moon inside an upside down tear drop against a blue background. The interface doesn’t even have an animal of any sort. aaeaaqaaaaaaaaijaaaajgm2zdgwzjawltlhyzktngm5ni05zmnhlwu3nmy3mdfmmtu4ng[1]

I’m no spring chicken and I’m not afraid to admit that I am often paralyzed by inadequacy when it comes to new apps. I had no idea whether my live video was posting to my twitter. I could only figure out after the fact. Meerkat posted to my twitter automatically, which is maybe a bad thing if something really embarrassing happens in the video. With Periscope I didn’t have this problem because after I was done recording the videos I recorded simply disappeared into the etherweb, with no proof of ever having existed. This is probably fore the best since I accidentally flipped the camera during the video so the big finale is the frantic face I’m making as I try to figure out how to flip it back. Which I chalk about to another flaw in Periscope’s design.

Meerkat  / At the zoo / Novosibirsk / Siberia / 24.07.2012Aside from these differences, Meerkat and Periscope are virtually identical, serving the same purpose with practically the same features and usability. If I had to pick the superior product, it would obviously be Meerkat because meerkats.  Howeever, I don’t think I would use either app because frankly there is very rarely something occurring in my life that is interesting enough to live stream. And furthermore I will always be scared that something humiliating or inappropriate will occur and it will be released into the internet for the entire world to see with no opportunity to edit or cut.

That being said, I have no idea where any of the videos I recorded went and I have no idea how to get them back. Otherwise I’d post them here. In their place, I will provide word descriptions so you can imagine: a 15 pound maltipoo and a 20 pound orange cat, pawing and growling and battling to the death in the arena of my kitchen. Three strips of bacon sizzling very slowly on a black pan, flat pink slices of meet slowly reddening and bubbling to life. Bacon[1]

Leave a Reply

