NYC Welcomes Lunar New Year Parade

Colorful floats, musicians, dancers, food and thousands of people parade.

The 16th annual Chinatown Lunar New Year Parade, the largest of its kind, is coming to New York City on Sunday, Feb. 22, at 1 p.m.

The Lunar New Year Parade celebrates traditions of all Asian countries: Japan, Korea and China. The New Year signals the beginning of spring and rebirth of the Earth. “New Year” in Chinese means “spring festival.” The Chinese are entering the Year of Sheep (or in some countries the Year of Goat). There will be three different parades in Manhattan’s Chinatown, Flushing, Queens and Sunset Park, Brooklyn.

“New York City has the largest Chinese population in the United States, and the three Chinatowns give visitors the opportunity to experience Asian culture and celebrate the Lunar New Year in Brooklyn, Queens and Manhattan,” said Marty Markowitz, NYC & Company’s vice president of borough promotion and engagement.

Stunning visuals and impressive performances will work great for mobile reporting, both for photography and video. There will be thousands of participants to choose from to do the interviews with. I want to cover it because I love to have fun while I’m doing work. It is also something I have never done before – cover a massive event like this – and I love to challenge myself and get out of my comfort zone. This will be a completely unfamiliar territory for me and I am very excited.

Courtesy of http://www.watersideplaza.com/
Courtesy of http://www.watersideplaza.com/

I don’t expect this to be an easy task because of all the distractions and the presence of many other reporters that will be doing the same thing as I. However, I will do my best to get my sources with all their correct information. Acrobats, puppet dragons and beauty queens that usually participate in the parade will make the visual part of this assignment a pleasure. I don’t anticipate any problems with live tweeting  because in an event of this proportions there will always be interesting things going on that I could report on.

 

Leave a Reply

