News Diet: Consume The Facts

After a massive following spree on Facebook and Twitter, I have created a news diet to keep up with ongoing news around the globe. This news diet will give me the ability to get real-time updates about what is happening in the news.

The variety of people and news outlets I have chosen to follow will give me different angles and perspectives on national, international and local news. By following The New York Times, Wall Street Journal and NPR News, I am able to get a range of diverse information all at once.

Specific reporters are essential to follow while assembling a news diet because it allows you to engage with the reporter and observe the style of how the reporter is reporting. I chose to follow reporters like Anderson Cooper, Miguel Almaguer and Clarissa Ward and much more to learn about their methods of coverage and investigating.

Following

While searching for users to follow, I stumbled upon NPR Invisibilia, a new show about human behavior. I’ve never heard of this show, so I decided to give it a listen. I found it to be so interesting that I decided to follow them on Twitter so I can get updates when new segments air.

NPR

Social media empowers news consumers to stay up-to-date with the latest information, but too much information can be overwhelming. It is critical for web editors to follow outlets and reporters that provide unique and comprehensive reporting.

I use sites like TweetDeck and Feedly to help categorize specific information I am interested in and make it easier to find what I’m looking for. Choosing to create a news diet will make it easier to obtain a variety of information in an organized and immediate way.

Leave a Reply

